Meet Your Librarian

Get to know the librarian for your school, department, or program. You will be glad you did!

School or area of specialty Name Email Address Phone Number
Allied Health Sciences Barbara Rochen Renner, PhD brrenner@email.unc.edu 919-843-7249
Bioinformatics Barrie Hayes Barrie_Hayes@unc.edu 919-962-0264
Cancer Information Jennifer Walker jennifer_walker@unc.edu 919-966-0958
Collections Susan Swogger sswogger@email.unc.edu 919-966-0777
Global Health Mellanye Lackey mjlackey@unc.edu 919-843-3136

Grant Funding Information,

Institute on Aging

Brenda Linares blinares@unc.edu 919-962-0801

Instructional Design,

Media Literacy

Bob Ladd bob_ladd@unc.edu 919-962-0601
NC Translational & Clinical Sciences Institute Barrie Hayes (interim) Barrie_Hayes@unc.edu 919-962-0264
School of Medicine Lara Handler lhandler@email.unc.edu 919-843-6235
School of Dentistry Kate McGraw Kate_McGraw@unc.edu 919-966-1855
School of Nursing Kate McGraw (interim) Kate_McGraw@unc.edu 919-966-1855
School of Pharmacy Rachael Posey rposey@email.unc.edu 919-966-8011
School of Public Health Mellanye Lackey mjlackey@unc.edu 919-843-3136
Special Collections & History of the Health Sciences Dawne Lucas dawne_lucas@unc.edu 919-966-1776
UNC Hospitals Clinical Departments Karen Crowell kcrowell@email.unc.edu 919-966-0951

UNC Hospitals Administration,

Consumer Health

Christie Silbajoris silbc@email.unc.edu 919-843-6236

The librarian working with your department can:

  • Partner in grant preparation and systematic reviews of the literature
  • Assist with information location, evaluation, organization, and presentation
  • Integrate information competency instruction into courses, curriculum, and continuing education
  • Develop tools for staying up to date with the research in your field
  • Provide information about copyright and changing publication practices
  • Orient new faculty and staff to library resources and services
  • Send alerts about new information tools, library services and programs
  • Communicate your needs for resources and services to the library

HSL librarians work with schools or departments based on the librarian's education, prior experience, and research interests. Through this work, librarians develop a deeper understanding of the information needs and resources in a field. Their accumulated knowledge directly benefits the schools and departments through high quality customized library services provided to students, faculty, clinicians, and staff.